COATESVILLE AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT SPECIAL SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES JUNE 12, 2012 – 6:00 PM 9/10 CENTER AUDITORIUM

OPENING ACTIVITIES

1. CALL TO ORDER AT 6:25 P.M.

2. PURPOSE OF THE HEARING

The purpose of this meeting is to adopt the 2012-2013 Final General Fund Budget.

3. READING OF MISSION STATEMENT

THE MISSION OF THE COATESVILLE AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT IS TO PROVIDE EDUCATIONAL EXCELLENCE BY PREPARING STUDENTS WITH THE SKILLS NECESSARY TO BECOME LIFE-LONG LEARNERS AND RESPONSIBLE MEMBERS OF SOCIETY.

4. ADVISEMENT

By notice of the President, Board Members are advised that all votes shall be regarded as roll call votes. The minutes should also note that public notice was given for this meeting in accordance with Act 93 of 1998, Section 1. School Board meetings shall proceed in accordance with School Board policy.

5. ROLL CALL

Board of School Directors

J. Neil Campbell, President - present (Operations Committee) Richard M. Ritter, Vice-President – present (Finance Committee) Diane M. Brownfield – present (Education & Community & Student Relations Committees) Joseph E. Dunn, Jr. – present (Finance Committee) James L. Fox – present (Education & Community & Student Relations Committees) Paul L. Johnson - present (Operations Committee) Laurie C. Knecht - present (Operations Committee) William A. Sweigart – present (Finance Committee) Dr. Tonya Thames Taylor - present (Education & Community & Student Relations Committees)

Administration

Richard W. Como, Superintendent of Schools - present

Kenneth D. Lupold, Director of Business Administration/Board Secretary - absent

Dr. Angelo Romaniello, Assistant Superintendent & Director of High Schools - present

Dr. Teresa Powell, Director of Elementary Education & Mathematics Specialist K-12 - present

Dr. Orysia Stanko, Director of Middle Schools – present

Dave Krakower, Director of Special Education - present

Erika Zeigler, Director of Human Resources - present

Abdallah Hawa, Director of Technology - present

Solicitor

James E. Ellison, Esquire – present

6. MOMENT OF SILENCE AND SALUTE TO THE FLAG

PUBLIC COMMENT

1) Joseph Harkins:

Mr. Harkins collected donations from the Coatesville VFW for the AFJROTC Program at CASD. He also received pledges from other local VFW Posts and the Ladies Auxiliary.

2) Stuart Deets:

Mr. Deets is a retired Air Force Officer, a Caln resident, and CASD graduate from the class of 1971. He thanked board members for their service to the community, and reminded them of their responsibility to educate the students who may become future veterans of this country.

3) Alex Krauss:

Alex is an ROTC cadet who has received awards while in the Program. He is in favor of keeping the ROTC Program at CASD.

4) Alan Foster:

Mr. Foster is in favor of keeping the ROTC Program at CASD. He has been asking around for funding support, and asked the Board for more time to raise the money needed to keep the program open.

5) Esterlina Wiest:

She is the AFJROTC PA 771 Group Commander, and in favor of keeping the Program at CASD.

6) *Sherry Winn*:

Mrs. Winn is a parent of an ROTC cadet who will be a senior this fall. She hopes CASD will be able to keep the Program open throughout her son's final year.

7) Lisa Draper:

Ms. Draper is in favor of keeping the ROTC Program at CASD.

8) *Colleen Beckershoff:*

Mrs. Beckershoff is in favor of keeping the ROTC Program at CASD.

9) Bob Beckershoff:

Mr. Beckershoff is in favor of keeping the ROTC Program at CASD.

10) Patrick Brown:

Patrick is in favor of keeping the ROTC Program at CASD. He told the board how much he appreciates Chief Andy & Mrs. Kraft for their endless support.

11) Safiya Edwards:

Ms. Edwards raised \$35,000 for the ROTC Program. It is now earning 501(c)3 status partnered with the Coatesville Community Education Foundation. She is hopeful that the new status will lead to more donors.

MOTION ITEM(S) FOR APPROVAL

1. <u>2012-2013 Final Budget Adoption</u>

RECOMMENDED MOTION: That the Board of School Directors adopts the 2012-2013 General Fund Budget in the amount of \$138,455,181, this is a \$1,191,511 increase/decrease over 2011-12 (+0.9%).

Further, that the taxes to support the Budget be based on the following:

Real Estate Taxes 30.109 Mills (2.10%)

Earned Income Taxes 1% *
Local Services Taxes \$10.00*
Real Estate Transfer Taxes 1% *

2012-2013 Final Budget Adoption

Approved

Vote: 9-0-0

Motion: Joe Dunn Second: Diane Brownfield Vote: 9-0-0

PUBLIC COMMENT

1) Pam Tatum:

Teacher at the 9/10 Center has concerns about budget cuts, ie: programs and positions.

2) Jarrett Jackson:

Mr. Jackson is a former member of the AFTROTC Program, and he suggests seeking new and innovative ways to raise funds to save the Program and help with other programs within the District. He also commented on some students who are now serving in the military, would have had a better status in the military had they been afforded the opportunity to join the ROTC Program.

3) *John Hall, Vice President of the Coatesville Community Education Foundation*: Mr. Smith announced that the Coatesville Community Education Foundation is now accepting tax-deductible donations for the CASD's ROTC Program at their website: www.coatesvillefoundation.org.

^{*} Shared with municipalities

ADJOURNMENT

Respectfully submitted,

This meeting was adjourned at 7:59 p.m. on a motion by Diane Brownfield and seconded by Laurie Knecht.

Karen Jackson, Recording Secretary

Kenneth D. Lupold, School Board Secretary

If any Board Member or member of the public wishes to review the minutes verbatim, please contact the School Board Secretary and make arrangements to come to the District Office and listen to the meeting tapes.